Health Board



  • 5 p.m.
  • 3rd Monday of each month
  • The Health Board Meeting Room
    2nd floor of the Community Health Building
    200 Maine Street Lawrence, KS 66044

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes



  • Verdell Taylor Jr., Chair
  • Erika Dvorske, Vice Chair 
  • Hugh Carter, Treasurer

Bylaws: View Bylaws of the Lawrence-Douglas County Health Board

Health Board Members

Name Appointed By
Date of Term
Erica Hill
City 2020 - 2023 2nd
Michael Williams
County 2021 - 2024 3rd
Dr. Graig Nickel KU Chancellor
2022 - 2025 1st
Shanda Hurla
County 2019 - 2022 2nd
Hugh Carter
2020 - 2023 2nd
Erika Dvorske City/County 2021-2024
Verdell Taylor Jr.
City 2021 - 2024
Dr. John Nalbandian
City  2022-2025


The Lawrence Douglas-County Health Board was established in 1951. The board meets at 5 p.m. the third Monday of each month at the Community Health Facility, 200 Maine St., in Lawrence. Members serve 3-year terms, with no member serving more than 2 consecutive full terms. Members of the board are appointed by the Douglas County Commission, by the Lawrence City Commission and 1 by joint action of the 2 governing bodies. 1 ex officio member from the University of Kansas is selected by the KU Chancellor.

The board’s duties include:

  • Establishing and formulating policies for the operation of the Health Department
  • Hiring and evaluating the Director
  • Reviewing the annual budget
  • Reviewing Health Department programs and activities

Health Equity Advisory Board (HEAB)

Jennifer Navarro
Laura Canelos
Nafiza Akbar
Sierra Two Bulls
Kay Emerson
Jose Eduardo Romero
Roberto Gonzalez
Kevin Coronado