New Home Providers
Douglas County residents who want to operate a child care home need to attend a Child Care Licensing orientation class. The class is a requirement before an application can be submitted.
During the class, participants will learn about the Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s regulations, including paperwork requirements and the inspection process.
Kansas law requires that homes be licensed or have a temporary permit when a provider has one or two children for more than 20 hours a week, or if they have more than two children. Licensing is not required when a family member provides care for a relative.
- Due to COVID-19, LDCPH is not conducting orientation in person at this time. Once the $140 registration fee has been paid ($40 orientation fee and $100 initial license fee), you will be contacted to schedule a virtual orientation.
- Please do not bring children and infants to the training session.
- To register, use this form.
- Licensed Day Care Home - $100 initial fee, $75 renewal fee
- Group Day Care Home — $100 initial fee, $75 renewal fee
You can also submit this recurring payment each year using this form.
How do I become a licensed in-home child care provider?
The first step is to attend an orientation training at the Health Department. The purpose of the training is to review and discuss regulations and procedures. Register for a training here.
Does everyone who cares for children in their home need to be licensed?
Licensure is required if you:
- care for one unrelated child more than 20 hours per week
- care for two unrelated children more than 20 combined hours per week
- care for more than two unrelated children
Are there any minimum requirements for being a licensed in-home child care provider?
The minimum requirements are:
- have a high school diploma or equivalent (GED)
- outdoor play space at your home
- two exits on the main level of your home
What are the required trainings?
Within 30 days of submitting your application for a license, complete the following Kansas Department of Health and Environment requirements for initial professional development training. Download the requirements here.
You must document training by having a certificate of attendance with training date.
Pediatric First Aid and Pediatric CPR Training Classes
- Eudora Fire Department: Jim Kerby, 785-542-3653, firstname.lastname@example.org
- Lawrence Memorial Hospital: lmh.org.
- Children's Alliance of Kansas: 785-235-5437, childally.org
- American Red Cross: 785-843-3550, douglascountyks.redcross.org/class_reg.html
- Kansas Children's Service League: elearning.kcsl.org
- Child Care Aware of Eastern Kansas: Marie Treichel, 785-865-0669, east.ks.childcareaware.org
- Douglas County Citizens Committee on Alcoholism/DCCCA: 785-841-4138, dccc.org
- Safety Trainings Solutions: safetytrainingsolutions.net
Resources for Training
- Healthy Children (SIDS): healthychildcare.org/ProfDev.html
- Kansas Child Care Training Opportunities (KCCTO) Training: kccto.org
- Kansas Children's Service League (online training): elearning.kcsl.org
- KS-Train Course ID #1033033: ks.train.org
- Johnson County Health Department: 913-477-8382, jocogov.org/health/child-care
- Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office: https://www.ktsro.org.
Kansas Child Care Training Opportunities (KCCTO)
- Sarah Holmes, 785-477-0566, email@example.com
Child Care Aware Resource and Referral
- Marie Treichel, 785-865-0669
Positive Bright Start
Home License Capacity - One Adult
|Under 18 months||18 months but under age 5||5 years but under age 11||Total|
Home Group Capacity - Two Adults
|Under 18 months||18 months but under age 5||5 years but under age 11||Capacity|
Paperwork that must be posted:
- License or temporary permit
- Fire Life Safety Agreement (must be updated each year)
- Emergency phone numbers
- Disaster plan
- Recorded fire drills (monthly) and tornado drills (April-September)
- Diapering and toileting procedures (group only)
- Checklist for Children's Files — Home (PDF)
- Checklist for Staff Files — Home (PDF)
- Diapering regulations
- Disaster Plan for Day Care Home-Child Care Center (PDF)
- Emergency Information and Phone Numbers (PDF)
- Fire Life Safety Agreement
- Licensed Day Care Homes Self-Evaluation Checklist (PDF)
- Reportable Diseases in Kansas (PDF)
- SPA Kansas Child Care Provider Licensing Toolkit
- Tips for Writing Disaster Plans
- Weather Watch (PDF)